Print    Close This Window
McCrary Mustangs Win Elementary Battle of the Books Competition

Asheboro City Schools hosted the annual Battle of the Books competition on Thursday, March 21 at Lindley Park Elementary School. All five ACS elementary schools competed in one of the most exciting academic competitions of the year. In the end, the Charles W. McCrary Mustangs won and now advance to the regional competition in April.

Individual team members from include: Raleigh Brady, Yareli Chavez, Kaylen Granados, Mason Kotlowski, Monica Calderon, Kathy Granados. Danielle (DJ) Johnston, Joshua Prochnau. The team was led by Ms. Cassie Lassiter.

Battle of the Books teams are formed early in the school year in order to begin preparing the Battle of the Books competition. Elementary school students and their coaches receive a listing of books in which they could potentially be tested during competitions.

This year, the North Carolina School Library Media Association list of books consisted of: At the Bottom of the World, by Bill Nye and Gregory Mone; Ban this Book, by Alan Gratz; Becoming Naomi Leon, by Pam Munoz Ryan; Blood on the River, by Elisa Carbone; Found, by Margaret Peterson Haddix; The Fourteenth Goldfish, by Jennifer L. Holm; How to Steal a Dog, by Barbara O’Connor; The Old Willis Place, by Mary Downing Hahn; Rain Reign, by Ann M. Martin; Ruby Holler, by Sharon Creech; Runaway Twin, by Peg Kehret; Save Me a Seat, by Sarah Weeks and Gita Varadarajan; A Snicker of Magic, by Natalie Lloyd; Stella by Starlight, by Sharon M. Draper; A Wrinkle in Time, by Madeleine L’Engle.