Asheboro City Schools News Article

AHS Seniors Earn Asheboro City School Education Foundation Scholarships

On Wednesday, May 29, 25 seniors from the Asheboro High School Class of 2019 were awarded scholarships through the Asheboro City Schools Education Foundation. Students were recognized along with their peers at the school’s annual Senior Awards Night. The event opened with a welcome from student-body president, Grayson Armstrong. Dr. Penny Crooks, principal of Asheboro High School, and assistant principals, Mrs. Gayle Higgs, Mr. Jonathan Jessup, and Mr. Donnie Wright, led the program. 

“The Asheboro High School Class of 2019 has had a remarkable year as we have seen by these seniors tonight. These seniors have earned an over $7.3 million in scholarships, grants, and other monetary awards,” said Dr. Crooks at the conclusion of the program. 

Students earning scholarships from the Asheboro City Schools Education Foundation include: 

Chick-fil-A/Asheboro Business Community Scholarship                           Zackery Queen                                                
B. Frank Barham Excellence in Mathematics Scholarship                        Thomas Gawf                                                  
Diane L. Frost/Centennial Scholarship                                                         Javier Smith                                                    
Christine Fennell Memorial Scholarship                                                      Yazzmyn Johnson                                          
Dr. Bob W. Gordon Scholarship                                                                     Jacob Lawrence                                              
Richard Harrington Scholarship                                                                     Alexis Alston                                                   
Pam Hill Scholarship                                                                                        Zoey Little                                                       
Derek Kesler Memorial Scholarship                                                              Attiya Muhammad                                        
JB and Claire Davis Scholarship of Excellence                                             Haylee Kirkman                                              
Richard Morgan Scholarship                                                                          Georgianna Antoniou                                     
Brooke Upchurch Phillips Memorial Scholarship                                        Erika Parades Ruiz                                         
Lee Phoenix Memorial Scholarship                                                               Gabrielle Parks                                                
Shann Redding Scholarship for Excellence                                                   Cameron Surratt                                             
Ruby B Smith Memorial Scholarship                                                              Claudia "Whitney" Hoffman                             
C. Reitzel Smith Memorial Scholarship                                                           Alex Castaneda                                               
Dr. Gurdial S. and Mrs. Surinder Walha Scholarship                                   Emma Trotter                                                 
Fields Scholarship                                                                                              Alvis Adames                                                  
Charles Spivey Memorial Scholarship                                                            Jacob Bolick                                                    
Allen Tate Scholarship                                                                                      Nathalia Gil                                                     
Express Personnel Services Scholarship                                                       Thomas Gawf                                                 
T. Henry Redding Scholarship of Achievement                                            Saul Badillo                                                     
William H. Redding Scholarship for Excellence                                            Delaney McKaughn                                         
Sodexo Services Scholarship                                                                           Nathan Otero                                                  
Katie Bunch Servant Leadership                                                                     Grayson Armstrong & Mary Kate Kovash   
Lee J. Stone Memorial Scholarship                                                                 Rachel Luna Sanchez                                      
Lisa Robertson Memorial Scholarship                                                           Rachel Luna Sanchez                                      

Asheboro City Schools is a medium-sized school district in North Carolina, serving approximately 4,700 students at eight schools and one five-star Early Childhood Development Center. The district’s mission is to graduate responsible citizens who are prepared to succeed in higher education or the career of their choice.

Print This Article
© 2020 Asheboro City Schools. All Rights Reserved.