Asheboro High School to Perform The Hunchback of Notre Dame Musical

ASHEBORO – The Asheboro High School Park Street Players are delighted to present the THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME, a musical based on the Victor Hugo novel and songs from the Disney film, at the Asheboro High School Performing Arts Center March 8-10 at 7 p.m. and March 11 at 2 p.m. Reserved seating can purchased in advance by calling (336) 496-8543 or by email at: or at the Performing Arts Center box office 45 minutes before each show.

      This fully-staged production of “The Hunchback of Notre Dame” will feature a cast of 34 Asheboro High School students, including Alec Schoenberger as Quasimodo, Olivia Hydzik as Esmeralda, Chris Salinas as Archdeacon Claude Frollo, and Jacob Strider as Captain Phoebus.  The production will also feature a collaboration with a volunteer adult chorus of 24 community members under the direction of Gwen Hall.  The artistic staff for the musical includes Phil Homiller, Nicole Peters, Meredith Mormann, and Suzanne Benhart  and licensing is secured through Music Theater International of New York, NY.  Asheboro High School will be the first North Carolina school of any kind to perform this musical.  

      Composer Alan Menken (The Little Mermaid, Aladdin) and lyricist Stephen Schwartz (Wicked, Pocahontas, Godspell) have taken many of the songs from the Disney film of 1996 and created a new production with additional songs and a new storyline that adheres more closely to the original novel.  The musical tells the story of the hunchback Quasimodo, his guardian Frollo, the gypsy Esmeralda, and the captain of the Cathedral Guard, Phoebus de Martin.  Their paths, combined with the dramatic elements of love, obsession, forgiveness, comedy, betrayal, and heroism result in an emotionally powerful and ultimately tragic conclusion.  Featuring some of the most beautiful music ever written for the stage, this musical has something for almost everyone, although it is not recommended for children under the age of 10.

      Cast members include:  Daniel Acosta, Julie Almond, Georgianna Antoniou, Juan Avilez, Max Babula, Kianti Blackmon, Ben Carroll, Gabriella Della Rosa, Emily Estrada, Rigo Faz, Shay Foy, Michael Garcia, Henna Gibbs, Kaylee Greene, Saulo Hernandez, Makayla Hunter, Olivia Hydzik, Noah Ingold, Crystal Jaimes, Freddy Kelley, Carolina Leon, Jose Ortiz Marcelo, Caleb Perkins, Angie Pincus, Taniah Prater, Conner Robinson, Chris Salinas, Alec Schoenberger, Riley Smith, Jacob Strider, Cameron Surratt, Noemi Vazquez, Morgan Ward, and Michael Willett.  Stage managers are Katerina Peters and Laura Gomez.  Technical crew members are Sophie Davis, Peyton Blue, Calista White, Ryan Homiller, Georgia Shipley, Piper Shipley, and Saul Badillo.

      Tickets are $12 and students/seniors are $10. Please contact Leigh Anna Marbert for more information about the show by calling (336) 625-5104.



(Reporters/Editors: Please call Leigh Anna Marbert at (336) 625-5104.)

Print This Article
© 2019 Asheboro City Schools. All Rights Reserved.